White bread

Triticum aestivum · Grass family · seed (grain), milled into flour · plant · details

What it fights you with

100 g as sold, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

  • : 10–144 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

Every compound listed for this food, with its source and threshold: Show the numbers

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50
Portion (as sold)

100 g as sold, as eaten. Household measures are USDA FoodData Central's own for this food.

This portion of white bread gives 48.5% of a day's thiamin and 42.8% of folate. None of the compounds measured here has a set safety limit.

What you get

Top 3 nutrients, % of the US daily amount, 100 g as sold, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g as sold, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 10–144 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for as sold; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Phytate: Soaking, sprouting and fermenting lower . [source]

Seeds are the plant's offspring and among its most defended parts.

The story (per 100 g)

This USDA entry for white bread includes 86 µg of folic acid per 100 g, which is added to flour, not natural to wheat: the site shows the bread as sold. 100 g, about three and a half slices, gives 48.5% of the US for thiamin for women, and 490 mg of sodium.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientas sold [FDC 174924]
Protein8.85 g [USDA]
Fat3.33 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential49.4 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2.7 g [USDA]
Sugars5.67 g [USDA]
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:10 µg (calculated by USDA) [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C0 mg (measured) [USDA]
Vitamin D by USDA (not measured) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.22 mg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food0.2 µg [USDA]calculated
Folate (DFE)171 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.087 mg [USDA]
Potassium126 mg [USDA]
Magnesium23 mg [USDA]
Calcium144 mg [USDA]
Iron3.61 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.74 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg (calculated by USDA) [USDA]calculated
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg (calculated by USDA) [USDA]calculated
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg (calculated by USDA) [USDA]calculated

Daily amounts per 100 g as sold

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g as soldDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein8.85 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 19.2% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 19.7% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 15.2% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 19.2% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 15.2% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2.7 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 9% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 10.8% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:10 µg RAE (calculated by USDA)from Beta-carotene: 0 µg (calculated by USDA) (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (calculated by USDA) (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (calculated by USDA) (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 700 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C0 mg (measured)
Vitamin E0.22 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.47% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 7.33% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.14% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 2.93% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food0.2 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.222% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 0.286% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 0.286% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 0.333% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 0.364% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)171 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 42.8% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 12.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 51.8% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 42.8% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 42.8% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.087 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.69% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 7.25% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.44% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.69% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 6.69% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium126 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.85% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 3.6% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.6% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.5% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 3.59% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium23 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.19% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 8.52% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.67% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.19% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 10.5% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium144 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.4% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 20.6% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 15.2% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 14.4% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 14.4% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron3.61 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 20.1% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 24.4% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 22.6% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 32.8% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 20.1% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 6.14–18.4% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.74 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.25% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 10.6% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.87% of 7.5 mg (300 mg phytate band) [PRI] [source]EFSA's band nearest the phytate here (10–144 mg), treating it as the day's phytate; counts only foods with a phytate figure
  • Australia/NZ 9.25% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 7.55–24.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g as soldDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin Dassumed zero by USDA (not measured)
  • US/Canada (your choice) assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 15 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 10 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 15 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 5 µg [AI] [source]
  • WHO assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 5 µg [RNI] [source]
Thiamin0.533 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 48.5% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 66.6% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 48.5% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 48.5% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.243 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 22.1% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 22.1% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 15.2% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 22.1% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 22.1% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (measured)
Selenium22 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 40% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 36.7% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 31.4% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 36.7% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 84.6% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.101 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.2% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 8.42% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.77% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.42% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.536 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 29.8% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 17.9% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.7% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus98 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 17.8% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 17.8% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.8% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium490 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 32.7% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 24.5% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 24.5% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 24.5% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline14.6 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.44% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.65% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.44% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

white bread (as sold)

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for white bread. USDA lists 37.2 g of starch and 5.67 g of sugars in 100 g; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starch37.2 g [USDA]
Total sugars5.67 g [USDA]
Glucose1.57 g [USDA]
Fructose2.43 g [USDA]
Sucrose0 g (measured) [USDA]
Maltose1.67 g [USDA]
Lactose0 g (measured) [USDA]
Galactose0 g (measured) [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)2.7 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 174924: Bread, white, commercially prepared (includes soft bread crumbs) (not matched to a CoFID food yet) [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

Wheat allergens

Dose
as sold: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer only
Threshold
Mandatory allergen labeling (US FDA, Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA)) [source]Wheat is one of the nine major food allergens that must be declared on US labels (eight under FALCPA 2004; sesame added by the FASTER Act 2021, effective January 1, 2023).
Effect
Wheat is a US major food allergen; it can cause allergic reactions in sensitized people. FDA: reactions range from hives and lip swelling to severe, life-threatening symptoms (anaphylaxis). Regulatory assessment

(phytic acid)

As the source gives it
10–144 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
as sold: 10–144 mg in 100 g
Cooking
Soaking, sprouting and fermenting lower phytate. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No . EFSA instead raises zinc requirements with intake: at 300/600/900/1,200 mg phytate/day, men need 9.4/11.7/14.0/16.3 mg zinc and women 7.5/9.3/11.0/12.7 mg
Effect
Lowers zinc absorption; zinc needs rise as intake rises (see the threshold note). Regulatory assessment

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources