Red kidney beans

In plain English

Kidney beans are seeds, the plant's offspring, and they are defended accordingly. Raw or undercooked, as few as four or five beans can cause severe vomiting within 1–3 hours. Heating to about 80°C does not destroy the toxin, which is why slow cookers are a known cause. Soak for at least 5 hours, discard the water, then boil hard in fresh water for at least 10 minutes. Canned beans are already safe. Cooked properly, 100 g gives 7.4 g fiber, 29.6% of the 25 g US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Phaseolus vulgaris
Kingdom
plant
Family
Fabaceae
Part eaten
seed
In the kitchen
legume

The seed is the plant's offspring, which is why it is so heavily defended.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 396 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

3 compounds listed for this food have no amount for boiled; they are under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Phytohemagglutinin: Soak at least 5 h, discard the water, then boil vigorously in fresh water for at least 10 min. Heating to ~80°C does NOT destroy it (slow cookers are a known cause). Tinned beans are already safe. [source]
  • Phytate: Soaking and boiling did NOT reduce in kidney beans; germination cut it 43%. [source]
  • Alpha-amylase inhibitor: Boiling at 95°C for 1 h cut activity ~90% (review citation). [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 173744]boiled [FDC 175194]
Protein22.5 g [USDA]8.67 g [USDA]
Fat1.06 g [USDA]0.5 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential61.3 g [USDA]calculated22.8 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber15.2 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code7.4 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Sugars2.1 g [USDA]imputed0.32 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:10 µg [USDA]calculated0 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C4.5 mg [USDA]1.2 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.21 mg [USDA]imputed0.03 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food5.6 µg [USDA]imputed8.4 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)394 µg [USDA]calculated130 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.397 mg [USDA]0.12 mg [USDA]
Potassium1360 mg [USDA]403 mg [USDA]
Magnesium138 mg [USDA]45 mg [USDA]
Calcium83 mg [USDA]28 mg [USDA]
Iron6.69 mg [USDA]2.94 mg [USDA]
Zinc2.79 mg [USDA]1.07 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g boiled

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein8.67 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 18.8% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 19.3% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 14.9% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 18.8% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 14.9% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber7.4 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 29.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 24.7% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 29.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 29.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 29.6% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:10 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C1.2 mg
Vitamin E0.03 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.2% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 1% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.273% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.429% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 0.4% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food8.4 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.33% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 12% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 12% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 14% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 15.3% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)130 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 32.5% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 65% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 39.4% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 32.5% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 32.5% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.12 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.23% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 10% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.5% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.23% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 9.23% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium403 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 15.5% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 11.5% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11.5% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.4% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 11.5% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium45 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.1% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 16.7% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 15% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.1% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 20.5% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium28 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.8% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 4% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.95% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 2.8% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.8% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron2.94 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 16.3% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 19.9% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 18.4% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 26.7% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 16.3% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5–15% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc1.07 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13.4% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 15.3% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 14.3% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 13.4% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 10.9–35.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.16 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.5% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 20% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.5% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 14.5% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.058 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.27% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.27% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.62% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.27% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.27% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg
Selenium1.2 µg
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.242 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 26.9% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 20.2% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 18.6% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 20.2% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.477 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 26.5% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 15.9% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.54% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus142 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 20.3% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 25.8% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 25.8% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.2% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium2 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.133% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.1% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.1% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.1% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline30.5 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.18% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.62% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.18% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

red kidney beans

Most of the carbohydrate in raw red kidney beans is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 39.3 g of glucose and about 1.2 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose39.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch38 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested2.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split3.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars2.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents44.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar15.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-109: Beans, red kidney, dried, raw [source]

red kidney beans (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled red kidney beans is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 14.7 g of glucose and about 0.4 g of fructose, plus traces of glucose and fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose14.7 g, plus traces of glucose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.4 g, plus traces of fructose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch14.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucosetrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructosetrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splittrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents15.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar11.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar6.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-659: Beans, red kidney, dried, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

Phytohemagglutinin (PHA, )

As the source gives it
80000–100000 HAU/g (hemagglutinating units), raw dry beans [source]
Dose
raw: 80000–100000 HAU/g (hemagglutinating units), raw dry beans; not in totals: the unit (HAU/g (hemagglutinating units)) is not an amount per 100 gboiled: not in totals: properly boiled beans are a different food from raw ones; the source gives no range for them400 HAU/g base level when properly cooked; 3,200–102,400 HAU/g in beans that caused poisoning (Rodhouse et al. 1990, Epidemiol Infect 105:485–491 (50 UK incidents)). [source]
Cooking
Soak at least 5 h, discard the water, then boil vigorously in fresh water for at least 10 min. Heating to ~80°C does NOT destroy it (slow cookers are a known cause). Tinned beans are already safe. [source]
Threshold
not computable: units differ [source]The source's amounts are in HAU/g (hemagglutinating units); the reference point (no guidance value) is 22.9 mg PHA/kg body weight/day (BMDL10, rat small intestine) (EFSA CONTAM Panel 2026, EFSA Journal 24(1):e9850, no concern above an of 100). EFSA CONTAM Panel 2026, EFSA Journal 24(1):e9850: "exposure to completely deactivated in food prepared following adequate food processing practices (e.g. soaking and boiling) would not raise health concerns"
Effect
As few as 4–5 raw beans cause severe vomiting within 1–3 hours, then diarrhoea; recovery is usually quick. Human observational study

(phytic acid)

As the source gives it
1201.08 mg/100 g, DRY matter [source]
Dose
raw: 1060 mg in 100 g (converted from dry weight using USDA water content (11.75 g per 100 g, FDC 173744))boiled: 396 mg in 100 g (measured on boiled beans; converted from dry weight using USDA water content (66.94 g per 100 g, FDC 175194))
Cooking
Soaking and boiling did NOT reduce phytate in kidney beans; germination cut it 43%. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No . EFSA instead raises zinc requirements with intake: at 300/600/900/1,200 mg phytate/day, men need 9.4/11.7/14.0/16.3 mg zinc and women 7.5/9.3/11.0/12.7 mg
Effect
Reduces zinc (and iron) absorption. Regulatory assessment

Alpha-amylase inhibitor (phaseolamin)

Dose
raw: not in totals: no amount in the source data (not found); explainer onlyboiled: not in totals: no amount in the source data (not found); explainer only
Cooking
Boiling at 95°C for 1 h cut activity ~90% (review citation). [source]
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
None sourced. Not graded
Used in / studied for
Sold as a 'carb blocker'. Trials show ~1–2 kg extra weight loss; one meta-analysis found no significant effect, and the trials are low quality and partly industry-funded.Dose studied: e.g. 2,400 mg extract/dayIn a portion: not comparable: cooking inactivates most of itHuman trial [source]

Condensed tannins

As the source gives it
81 mg catechin equivalents/100 g, DRY matter [source]
Dose
raw: 71.5 mg catechin equivalents in 100 g (converted from dry weight using USDA water content (11.75 g per 100 g, FDC 173744))boiled: not in totals: not measurable after boiling (Godrich et al. 2023)
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
No human effect data sourced. Not graded

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources