Almonds

In plain English

An almond is not a true nut: it is the seed inside the stone of a fruit, and seeds are often heavily defended. Almonds make , a compound that releases cyanide when the seed is crushed. In one study of 10 California varieties, sweet almonds, the kind sold for eating, had 0.2–15.7 mg of amygdalin per 100 g. Bitter almonds had 3,300–5,400 mg, more than 200 times the sweet-almond maximum, which is why EU law lets them be sold only in small packs labeled for cooking and baking, not for eating raw. The National Kidney Foundation says limiting very high foods such as almonds may be warranted for people with high urine oxalate despite getting enough calcium. Where almonds win is vitamin E: 100 g gives 25.6 mg, 171% of the 15 mg US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Prunus amygdalus
Kingdom
plant
Family
Rosaceae
Part eaten
seed (kernel)
In the kitchen
nut

Botanically not a true nut: the seed inside the stone of a drupe.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 0.216–15.7 mg amygdalin in 100 g, can't be compared with a safety limit (see the numbers). Regulatory assessment
  • : 335–9000 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 170567]
Protein21.2 g [USDA]
Fat49.9 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential21.6 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber12.5 g [USDA]
Sugars4.35 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:10.0833 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C0 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E25.6 mg [USDA]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food0 µg [USDA]
Folate (DFE)44 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.137 mg [USDA]
Potassium733 mg [USDA]
Magnesium270 mg [USDA]
Calcium269 mg [USDA]
Iron3.71 mg [USDA]
Zinc3.12 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )1 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein21.2 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 46% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 47% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 36.4% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 46% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 36.4% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber12.5 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 50% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 41.7% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 50% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 50% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 50% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:10.0833 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 1 µg (label amount), gives 0.0833 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.0119% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C0 mg
Vitamin E25.6 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 171% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 854% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 233% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 366% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 342% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food0 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 0% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 0% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)44 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 22% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 13.3% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 11% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 11% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.137 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.5% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 11.4% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.56% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.5% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 10.5% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium733 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 28.2% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 20.9% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 20.9% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 26.2% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 20.9% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium270 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 84.4% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 100% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 90% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 84.4% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 123% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium269 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 26.9% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 38.4% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 28.3% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 26.9% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 26.9% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron3.71 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 20.6% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 25.1% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 23.2% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 33.7% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 20.6% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 6.31–18.9% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc3.12 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 39% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 44.6% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 41.6% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 39% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 31.8–104% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.205 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 18.6% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 25.6% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 18.6% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 18.6% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin1.14 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 103% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 103% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 71.1% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 103% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 103% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium4.1 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.45% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.83% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.86% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.83% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 15.8% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper1.03 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 115% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 85.9% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 79.3% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 85.9% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese2.18 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 121% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 72.6% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 43.6% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus481 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 68.7% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 87.5% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 87.5% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 48.1% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.0667% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.05% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.05% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.05% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline52.1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.3% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 13% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 12.3% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

almonds

Most of the carbohydrate in raw almonds is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 3.05 g of glucose and about 2.15 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose3.05 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose2.15 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested4.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars4.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents5.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar12.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 14-896: Almonds, whole kernels [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(cyanogenic glycoside)

As the source gives it
0.216–15.744 mg amygdalin/100 g, raw kernel as received (moisture basis not stated) [source]
Dose
raw: 0.216–15.7 mg amygdalin in 100 gBitter almonds (not sold as snack almonds): 3300.66–5399.83 mg amygdalin/100 g, raw kernel as received (moisture basis not stated). Not the almond figure; never in totals (Lee et al. 2013, J Agric Food Chem 61:7754–7759, doi:10.1021/jf402295u). [source]
Threshold
20 µg/kg = 1.4 mg at 70 kg, in a single day (EFSA); not compared [source]No percentage: the amount is in mg , not cyanide; no cyanide dose is worked out from it.
Legal maximum in the food
EU Reg 2022/1364 (now in Reg 2023/915), entry 8.3.3: 'Unprocessed whole, ground, milled, cracked, chopped almonds placed on the market for the final consumer' 35 mg HCN/kg; footnote: 'The maximum level does not apply to unprocessed whole, ground, milled, cracked, chopped bitter almonds placed on the market for the final consumer in small quantities where the warning "Only to be used for cooking and baking. Do not consume raw!" appears in the principal field of vision of the label' (https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/HTML/?uri=CELEX:32022R1364).
Effect
At sweet-almond levels, is not a practical cyanide risk; the risk sits with bitter almonds (see almond-bitter-amygdalin). Regulatory assessment

(phytic acid)

As the source gives it
350–9420 mg/100 g, DRY matter [source]
Dose
raw: 335–9000 mg in 100 g (converted from dry weight using USDA water content (4.41 g per 100 g, FDC 170567))
Threshold
No established thresholdNo . lowers zinc and iron absorption; use the phytate-adjusted zinc logic in kidneybean-phytate / reference-intakes.json.
Effect
Reduces zinc (and iron) absorption. Regulatory assessment

1 entry for this food is hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources