Spinach

In plain English

Spinach looks like a mineral powerhouse on the label, but most of its calcium is locked up by : people absorbed 5.1% of it, against 27.6% from milk. It is also high in . At the EU average of 106.6 mg per 100 g, about 243 g of spinach reaches the acceptable daily intake for a 70 kg adult (259 mg). Where spinach wins is vitamin K1: 100 g raw has 483 µg, 537% of the 90 µg US for women. The Popeye iron story is a myth twice over: the famous 'misplaced decimal point' never happened, and oxalate does not block spinach's iron the way it blocks its calcium.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Spinacia oleracea
Kingdom
plant
Family
Amaranthaceae
Part eaten
leaf
In the kitchen
vegetable

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 330–2350 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human observational study
  • : 78.5–107 mg in 100 g, well under the safe limit. Regulatory assessment

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for raw; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Oxalate: Boiling leaches soluble into the water: 67% removed after 2 min at 100°C, 73% after 3 min. Across vegetables, boiling cut soluble oxalate 30–87% and steaming 5–53%. [source]
  • Nitrate: Boiling at 100°C removed 30% after 2 min and 67% after 3 min. EFSA: vegetables lose 16–79% cooked in water. [source]
  • Vitamin A (beta-carotene): whole leaf 5.1%; minced 6.4%; liquefied 9.5% (relative to supplement) [source] Human trial, n=70

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 168462]boiled [FDC 168463]
Protein2.86 g [USDA]2.97 g [USDA]
Fat0.39 g [USDA]0.26 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential3.63 g [USDA]calculated3.75 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2.2 g [USDA]2.4 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Sugars0.42 g [USDA]calculated0.43 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:1469 µg [USDA]calculated524 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C28.1 mg [USDA]9.8 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E2.03 mg [USDA]2.08 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food483 µg [USDA]494 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)194 µg [USDA]calculated146 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.195 mg [USDA]0.242 mg [USDA]
Potassium558 mg [USDA]466 mg [USDA]
Magnesium79 mg [USDA]87 mg [USDA]
Calcium99 mg [USDA]136 mg [USDA]
Iron2.71 mg [USDA]3.57 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.53 mg [USDA]0.76 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )5630 µg [USDA]6290 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein2.86 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.22% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.36% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.92% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 6.22% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.92% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2.2 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 7.33% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 8.8% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:1469 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 5630 µg (label amount), gives 469 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 67% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C28.1 mg
Vitamin E2.03 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13.5% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 67.7% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 18.5% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 29% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 27.1% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food483 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 537% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 690% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 690% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 805% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 878% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)194 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 48.5% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 97% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 58.8% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 48.5% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 48.5% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.195 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 15% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 16.2% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 12.2% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 15% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 15% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium558 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 21.5% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 15.9% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 15.9% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 19.9% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 15.9% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium79 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 24.7% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 29.3% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 26.3% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 24.7% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 35.9% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium99 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.9% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 14.1% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.4% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 9.9% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 9.9% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron2.71 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 15.1% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 18.3% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 16.9% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 24.6% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 15.1% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.61–13.8% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.53 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.62% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 7.57% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.07% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 6.62% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.41–17.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.078 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.09% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 9.75% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.09% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 7.09% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.189 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 17.2% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 17.2% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11.8% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 17.2% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 17.2% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium1 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.82% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.67% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.43% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.67% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.85% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.13 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.4% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 10.8% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.8% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.897 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 49.8% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 29.9% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 17.9% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus49 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 8.91% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.91% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.9% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium79 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.27% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.95% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.95% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 3.95% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline19.3 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.54% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.82% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.54% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

Calcium

5.1% of the calcium absorbed

Heaney, Weaver & Recker 1988, Am J Clin Nutr 47:707 [source] Human trial, n=13

Vitamin A (beta-carotene)

whole leaf 5.1%; minced 6.4%; liquefied 9.5% (relative to supplement)

Castenmiller et al. 1999, J Nutr 129:349 [source] Human trial, n=70

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

spinach

Most of the carbohydrate in raw spinach is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 0.85 g of glucose and about 0.75 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose0.85 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.75 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-572: Spinach, mature, raw [source]

spinach (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled spinach is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 0.45 g of glucose and about 0.45 g of fructose, plus traces of starch.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose0.45 g, plus traces of starch [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.45 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starchtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-573: Spinach, mature, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

As the source gives it
329.6–2350 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 330–2350 mg in 100 gboiled: 330–2350 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
Cooking
Boiling leaches soluble oxalate into the water: 67% removed after 2 min at 100°C, 73% after 3 min. Across vegetables, boiling cut soluble oxalate 30–87% and steaming 5–53%. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No EFSA/JECFA/WHO value. Clinical low-oxalate diet target <100 mg/day (<50 mg if high urinary ) — diet guidance, not a safety limit
Effect
In large US cohorts, highest vs lowest intake was linked to ~21–22% higher kidney stone risk; spinach 8+ times a month to ~30% higher. Human observational study
Over time
Repeated intake: kidney stones

Most kidney stones are calcium , and stone crystals develop over weeks or months. In a large US study, men and older women eating the most oxalate had about a 21–22% higher risk of stones than those eating the least; in younger women there was no link. The authors concluded that dietary oxalate is not a major risk factor. The National Kidney Foundation advises eating enough calcium-rich foods rather than strictly limiting oxalate, and says limiting very high oxalate foods may be warranted for people with high urine oxalate despite getting enough calcium. Human observational study

Sources: MedlinePlus (US National Library of Medicine), Kidney stones; National Kidney Foundation, Six easy ways to prevent kidney stones (updated 26 Aug 2025); Taylor EN & Curhan GC 2007, J Am Soc Nephrol 18(7):2198–2204, abstract; National Kidney Foundation, as above

Calcium bound by

As the source gives it
5.1 % of spinach calcium absorbed (vs 27.6% from milk), human isotope study, 13 adults [source]
Dose
raw: 5.1 % of spinach calcium absorbed (vs 27.6% from milk), human isotope study, 13 adults; not in totals: the unit (% of spinach calcium absorbed (vs 27.6% from milk)) is not an amount per 100 gboiled: 5.1 % of spinach calcium absorbed (vs 27.6% from milk), human isotope study, 13 adults; not in totals: the unit (% of spinach calcium absorbed (vs 27.6% from milk)) is not an amount per 100 g
Threshold
Not applicable
Effect
About a fifth as much calcium is absorbed from spinach as from milk, so spinach's label calcium overstates what you get. Kale, being low in , absorbs well (0.409 vs milk 0.321; Heaney & Weaver 1990). Human trial

As the source gives it
78.5–106.6 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 78.5–107 mg in 100 gboiled: 78.5–107 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
Cooking
Boiling at 100°C removed 30% after 2 min and 67% after 3 min. EFSA: vegetables lose 16–79% cooked in water. [source]
Threshold
0.303–0.412 of the [source]: 3.7 mg ion/kg body weight/day = 259 mg/day at 70 kg (SCF 1997, reconfirmed JECFA 2002, retained EFSA 2017). = 222 mg/day for a 60 kg adult (EFSA 2008)
Legal maximum in the food
EU max 3,500 mg/kg fresh spinach; 2,000 mg/kg preserved/frozen (Reg 1258/2011, carried into 2023/915; same in UK FSA guidance)
Effect
EFSA: from vegetables is unlikely to cause appreciable health risk, and the benefits of eating vegetables prevail. Total intake from all sources can exceed the . Regulatory assessment
Used in / studied for
See beetroot nitrate: same compound.Human trial

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources