Edamame

In plain English

Edamame are young green soybeans, and soy's signature chemistry is , plant compounds that act weakly like estrogen. In USDA data, green soybeans average 48.95 mg of isoflavones per 100 g raw (35 samples) and 17.92 mg boiled. Soy is one of the nine major food allergens that must be declared on US labels. Cooked, 100 g of edamame gives 311 µg of folate, 77.8% of the 400 µg DFE US for women, and 5.2 g of fiber, 20.8% of the 25 g US .

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Glycine max
Kingdom
plant
Family
Fabaceae
Part eaten
immature seed
In the kitchen
legume

Young green soybeans.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 17.9 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for boiled; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Isoflavones: USDA lists 48.95 mg/100 g for raw green soybeans (35 samples) and 17.92 mg/100 g for boiled (4 samples). These are different sample sets, not a measured cooking loss. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 168410]boiled [FDC 168411]
Protein11.2 g [USDA]11.9 g [USDA]
Fat4.73 g [USDA]5.2 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential7.61 g [USDA]calculated8.91 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber4.8 g [USDA]5.2 g [USDA]
Sugars2.48 g [USDA]2.18 g [USDA]
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:1not reported [USDA]14.9 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C9.7 mg [USDA]6.1 mg [USDA]
Vitamin Dnot reported [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.72 mg [USDA]0.68 mg [USDA]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) listed separately31.4 µg [USDA]26.7 µg [USDA]
Folate (DFE)303 µg [USDA]calculated311 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.135 mg [USDA]0.1 mg [USDA]
Potassium482 mg [USDA]436 mg [USDA]
Magnesium61 mg [USDA]64 mg [USDA]
Calcium60 mg [USDA]63 mg [USDA]
Iron2.11 mg [USDA]2.27 mg [USDA]
Zinc1.32 mg [USDA]1.37 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )not reported [USDA]175 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )not reported [USDA]0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )not reported [USDA]8 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g boiled

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein11.9 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 25.9% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 26.5% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 20.5% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 25.9% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 20.5% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber5.2 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 20.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 17.3% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 20.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 20.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 20.8% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:114.9 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 175 µg (label amount), gives 14.6 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 8 µg (label amount), gives 0.333 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.13% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C6.1 mg
Vitamin E0.68 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.53% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 22.7% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.18% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.71% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 9.07% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) listed separately26.7 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 29.7% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 38.1% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 38.1% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 44.5% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 48.5% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)311 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 77.8% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 156% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 94.2% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 77.8% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 77.8% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.69% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 8.33% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.25% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.69% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 7.69% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium436 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 16.8% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 12.5% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 12.5% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 15.6% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 12.4% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium64 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 20% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 23.7% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 21.3% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 20% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 29.1% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium63 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.3% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 9% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.63% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 6.3% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 6.3% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron2.27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.6% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 15.3% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 14.2% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 20.6% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 12.6% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.86–11.6% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc1.37 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 17.1% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 19.6% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 18.3% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 17.1% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 14–45.7% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.2 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 18.2% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 25% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 18.2% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 18.2% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.155 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.1% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 14.1% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.69% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.1% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 14.1% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.8 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.45% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.33% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.14% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.33% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.08% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.345 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 38.3% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 28.8% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 26.5% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 28.8% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese1.02 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 56.9% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 34.1% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 20.5% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus169 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 24.1% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 30.7% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 30.7% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 16.9% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium6 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.4% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.3% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.3% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.3% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline56.3 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13.2% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 14.1% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13.2% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

edamame

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for raw edamame. USDA lists 0.33 g of starch and 2.48 g of sugars in 100 g; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starch0.33 g [USDA]
Total sugars2.48 g [USDA]
Glucose0 g [USDA]
Fructose0.21 g [USDA]
Sucrose1.13 g [USDA]
Maltose1.14 g [USDA]
Lactose0 g [USDA]
Galactose0 g [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)4.8 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 168410: Edamame, frozen, unprepared (no CoFID entry for raw edamame) [source]

edamame (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled edamame is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 4.55 g of glucose and about 0.75 g of fructose, plus traces of glucose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose4.55 g, plus traces of glucose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.75 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch3.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucosetrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splittrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars2.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents6.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar5.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-667: Beans, edamame, frozen, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(total, aglycone equivalents)

As the source gives it
48.95 mg/100 g, edible portion [source]
Dose
raw: 49 mg in 100 gboiled: 17.9 mg in 100 g (measured on boiled green soybeans)
Cooking
USDA lists 48.95 mg/100 g for raw green soybeans (35 samples) and 17.92 mg/100 g for boiled (4 samples). These are different sample sets, not a measured cooking loss. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No . EFSA (2015) assessed isoflavone food supplements (typically 35–150 mg/day) in peri- and post-menopausal women and found no adverse effects on mammary gland or uterus, or on thyroid hormones, at the doses and durations studied (uterus: up to 30 months at 150 mg/day, with some non-malignant histopathological changes after 60 months). It did not set a guidance value. This concerns supplements, not food.
Effect
Plant estrogens. In EFSA's review of supplements (35–150 mg/day), no harm to breast, uterus or thyroid was found in post-menopausal women over the periods studied. Regulatory assessment

Soy allergens

Dose
raw: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer onlyboiled: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer only
Threshold
Mandatory allergen labeling (US FDA, Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA)) [source]Soybeans are one of the nine major food allergens that must be declared on US labels (eight under FALCPA 2004; sesame added by the FASTER Act 2021, effective January 1, 2023).
Effect
Soy is a US major food allergen; it can cause allergic reactions in sensitized people. Regulatory assessment

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources