Red bell pepper

In plain English

Red bell peppers have lost the gene for capsaicin, the heat compound chili peppers use as a defense, through a single gene deletion. They are botanically a fruit, and ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten. 100 g raw has 127.7 mg vitamin C, 170% of the 75 mg US for women: the most of any raw food on this site.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Capsicum annuum
Kingdom
plant
Family
Solanaceae
Part eaten
fruit (botanically a berry)
In the kitchen
vegetable

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for raw; it is under Show the numbers.

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 170108]boiled [FDC 170110]
Protein0.99 g [USDA]0.92 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Fat0.3 g [USDA]0.2 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Carbohydrate: not essential6.03 g [USDA]calculated6.7 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2.1 g [USDA]imputed1.2 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Sugars4.2 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code4.39 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:1157 µg [USDA]calculated147 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C128 mg [USDA]171 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E1.58 mg [USDA]1.65 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food4.9 µg [USDA]5.1 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)46 µg [USDA]calculated16 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.291 mg [USDA]0.233 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Potassium211 mg [USDA]166 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Magnesium12 mg [USDA]10 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Calcium7 mg [USDA]9 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Iron0.43 mg [USDA]0.46 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Zinc0.25 mg [USDA]0.12 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )1620 µg [USDA]1520 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )20 µg [USDA]18 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )490 µg [USDA]460 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein0.99 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.15% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.2% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.7% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 2.15% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.7% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2.1 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 7% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 8.4% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:1157 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 1620 µg (label amount), gives 135 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 20 µg (label amount), gives 0.833 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 490 µg (label amount), gives 20.4 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 22.4% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C128 mg
Vitamin E1.58 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.5% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 52.7% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 14.4% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 22.6% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 21.1% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food4.9 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.44% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 7% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 7% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 8.17% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 8.91% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)46 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.5% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 23% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 13.9% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 11.5% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 11.5% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.291 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 22.4% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 24.2% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 18.2% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 22.4% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 22.4% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium211 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.12% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 6.03% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.03% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.54% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 6.01% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium12 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.75% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 4.44% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.75% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.45% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium7 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.7% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 1% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.737% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 0.7% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.7% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.43 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.39% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 2.91% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 2.69% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 3.91% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.39% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.731–2.19% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.25 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.12% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.57% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.33% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 3.12% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.55–8.33% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.054 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.91% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.75% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.91% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.91% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.085 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.73% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 7.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.31% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.73% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 7.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.1 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.182% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.167% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.143% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.167% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.385% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.017 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.89% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 1.42% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.31% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.42% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.112 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.22% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.73% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.24% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus26 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.71% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.73% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.73% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.6% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium4 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.267% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.2% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.2% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.2% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline5.6 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.32% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.4% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.32% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

red bell pepper

Most of the carbohydrate in raw red bell pepper is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 2 g of glucose and about 2.2 g of fructose, plus traces of starch and sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose2 g, plus traces of starch and sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose2.2 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starchtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose2.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars4.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents4.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar2.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-524: Pepper, capsicum, red, raw [source]

red bell pepper (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled red bell pepper is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.3 g of glucose and about 2 g of fructose, plus traces of starch.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.3 g, plus traces of starch [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starchtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars3.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents3.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar2.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar0.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-525: Pepper, capsicum, red, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

Capsaicin (absent)

As the source gives it
0 Scoville heat units, fresh [source]
Dose
raw: 0 Scoville heat units, fresh; not in totals: the unit (Scoville heat units) is not an amount per 100 gboiled: 0 Scoville heat units, fresh; not in totals: the unit (Scoville heat units) is not an amount per 100 g
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
Sweet peppers have lost the gene for capsaicin — chili's defense compound — through a single deletion. Not graded

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources