Leek

In plain English

Leeks are in the same family as onions and garlic, eaten for their leaf sheaths (the white and light-green stem). No defense compound in leeks has a sourced figure yet, so none is listed here. 100 g raw leek has 47 µg vitamin K1, 52.2% of the 90 µg US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Allium ampeloprasum var. porrum
Kingdom
plant
Family
Amaryllidaceae
Part eaten
leaf sheaths
In the kitchen
vegetable

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 169246]boiled [FDC 168426]
Protein1.5 g [USDA]0.81 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Fat0.3 g [USDA]0.2 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Carbohydrate: not essential14.2 g [USDA]calculated7.62 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber1.8 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code1 g [USDA]imputed
Sugars3.9 g [USDA]imputed2.11 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:183.3 µg [USDA]calculated40.6 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C12 mg [USDA]4.2 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.92 mg [USDA]imputed0.5 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food47 µg [USDA]imputed25.4 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)64 µg [USDA]calculated24 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.233 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code0.113 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Potassium180 mg [USDA]87 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Magnesium28 mg [USDA]14 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Calcium59 mg [USDA]30 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Iron2.1 mg [USDA]1.1 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Zinc0.12 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code0.06 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )1000 µg [USDA]imputed487 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]imputed0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein1.5 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.26% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.33% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.58% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 3.26% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.58% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber1.8 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 6% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 7.2% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:183.3 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 1000 µg (label amount), gives 83.3 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.9% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C12 mg
Vitamin E0.92 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.13% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 30.7% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.36% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13.1% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 12.3% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food47 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 52.2% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 67.1% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 67.1% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 78.3% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 85.5% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)64 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 16% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 32% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 19.4% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 16% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 16% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.233 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 17.9% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 19.4% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 14.6% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 17.9% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 17.9% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium180 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.92% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 5.14% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.14% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.43% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 5.13% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium28 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.75% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 10.4% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.33% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.75% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 12.7% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium59 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.9% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 8.43% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.21% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 5.9% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.9% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron2.1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.7% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 14.2% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 13.1% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 19.1% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 11.7% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.57–10.7% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.12 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.5% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.71% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.6% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 1.5% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.22–4% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.06 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.45% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 7.5% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.45% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.45% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.03 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.73% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.88% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.73% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium1 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.82% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.67% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.43% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.67% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.85% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.12 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13.3% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 10% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.23% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.481 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 26.7% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.62% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus35 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.36% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.36% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.5% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium20 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.33% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 1% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline9.5 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.24% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.38% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.24% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

leek

Most of the carbohydrate in raw leek is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 2 g of glucose and about 2.1 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splittrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars3.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents4.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar2.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-624: Leeks, raw [source]

leek (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled leek is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.05 g of glucose and about 1.45 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.05 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.45 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splittrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars2.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents2.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-625: Leeks, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

No checked or sourced compound entries for this food yet.

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources