Apple

In plain English

The apple is the part of the tree that wants to be eaten, and its flesh shows it: no was detected in juice made from apple flesh with skin. The defense is in the seeds, at 1–4 mg of amygdalin per gram. Chewed or ground, a gram of seeds can release 0.06–0.2 mg of cyanide, so it would take about 7 g of chewed seeds at the top of that range to reach EFSA's single-day limit for a 70 kg adult (1.4 mg). Apples also contain phloridzin, 2.78 mg per 100 g on average, which has been studied for blood sugar at doses above what food provides. 100 g gives 2.4 g of fiber, 9.6% of the 25 g US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Malus domestica
Kingdom
plant
Family
Rosaceae
Part eaten
fruit (pome)
In the kitchen
fruit

Ripe fruit is the part the tree wants eaten; the seeds are defended.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • Phloridzin: 2.78 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human trial

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for raw; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Amygdalin: was not detected in juice made from apple flesh with skin; it stays in the seeds. Intact swallowed seeds release little; chewing or grinding brings the glycoside into contact with the plant enzyme that releases HCN. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 171688]
Protein0.26 g [USDA]
Fat0.17 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential13.8 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2.4 g [USDA]
Sugars10.4 g [USDA]
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:12.71 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C4.6 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.18 mg [USDA]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food2.2 µg [USDA]
Folate (DFE)3 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.041 mg [USDA]
Potassium107 mg [USDA]
Magnesium5 mg [USDA]
Calcium6 mg [USDA]
Iron0.12 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.04 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )27 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )11 µg [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein0.26 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.565% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.578% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.448% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 0.565% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.448% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2.4 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 8% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.6% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 9.6% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:12.71 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 27 µg (label amount), gives 2.25 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 11 µg (label amount), gives 0.458 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.387% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C4.6 mg
Vitamin E0.18 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.2% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 6% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.64% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.57% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 2.4% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food2.2 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.44% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 3.14% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 3.14% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 3.67% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 4% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)3 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.75% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 1.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 0.909% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 0.75% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 0.75% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.041 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.15% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 3.42% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.56% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.15% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 3.15% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium107 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.12% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 3.06% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.06% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.82% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 3.05% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium5 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.56% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 1.85% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.67% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.56% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.27% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium6 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.6% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 0.857% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.632% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 0.6% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.6% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.12 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.667% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 0.811% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 0.75% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 1.09% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.667% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.204–0.612% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.04 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.5% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.571% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.533% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 0.5% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.408–1.33% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.017 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.55% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.12% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.55% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.55% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.026 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.36% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.36% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.62% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.36% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.36% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0 µg
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.027 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 2.25% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.08% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.25% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.035 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.94% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.17% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.7% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus11 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.57% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.1% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.0667% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.05% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.05% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.05% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline3.4 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.8% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.85% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.8% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

apple

Most of the carbohydrate in raw apple is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 3.5 g of glucose and about 8.1 g of fructose, plus traces of starch.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose3.5 g, plus traces of starch [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose8.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starchtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose6.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested2.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars11.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents11.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 14-319: Apples, eating, raw, flesh and skin [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(cyanogenic glycoside)

As the source gives it
100–400 mg amygdalin/100 g seeds, dry seed weight (seeds desiccated before extraction, per summarizer reading of Methods) [source]
Dose
raw: Seeds only (not detected in the flesh): 100–400 mg amygdalin/100 g seeds, dry seed weight (seeds desiccated before extraction, per summarizer reading of Methods); not in totals: the figure is per 100 g of apple seeds, not of apple
Cooking
Amygdalin was not detected in juice made from apple flesh with skin; it stays in the seeds. Intact swallowed seeds release little; chewing or grinding brings the glycoside into contact with the plant enzyme that releases HCN. [source]
Threshold
20 µg/kg = 1.4 mg at 70 kg, in a single day (EFSA); not compared [source]No percentage: the amount is in mg , not cyanide; no cyanide dose is worked out from it.
Effect
Cyanide released from the glycoside blocks cellular respiration. Acute signs include headache, dizziness, mental confusion, cyanosis, twitching and convulsions; EFSA reports a lethal dose of 0.5–3.5 mg/kg body weight. Regulatory assessment

Phloridzin (phlorizin)

As the source gives it
2.78 mg/100 g, fresh (wet) weight [source]
Dose
raw: 2.78 mg in 100 g
Threshold
No established thresholdNo safety value; dietary intake estimated at 0.7–7.5 mg/day on average in Europe, up to 52 mg/day for high consumers (Niederberger 2020).
Effect
Inhibits the intestinal sodium/glucose cotransporter SGLT1, reducing sugar uptake. Human trial
Used in / studied for
Clinical trials of phloridzin-enriched apple extract improved blood glucose handling, but at doses above normal food intake.Human trial [source]

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources