Kale

In plain English

Unlike spinach, kale is low in , so its calcium is well absorbed: 40.9% in one study, against 32.1% from milk in the same study. 100 g raw kale has 254 mg calcium, 25.4% of the 1,000 mg US , and 93.4 mg vitamin C, 125% of the 75 mg US RDA for women. Kale is the same species as broccoli and cabbage, bred for its leaves, and carries the same glucosinolate defenses: 64–884 µmol per 100 g across studies.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Brassica oleracea (Acephala group)
Kingdom
plant
Family
Brassicaceae
Part eaten
leaf
In the kitchen
vegetable

The same species as broccoli and cabbage.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 64–884 µmol in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human observational study
  • S-methylcysteine sulfoxide: 96 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Animal study

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for raw; it is under Show the numbers.

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 168421]boiled [FDC 169238]
Protein2.92 g [USDA]2.94 g [USDA]
Fat1.49 g [USDA]1.21 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential4.42 g [USDA]calculated5.3 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber4.1 g [USDA]4 g [USDA]imputed
Sugars0.99 g [USDA]1.21 g [USDA]
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:1241 µg [USDA]calculated146 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C93.4 mg [USDA]17.8 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.66 mg [USDA]1.61 mg [USDA]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) listed separately390 µg [USDA]418 µg [USDA]
Folate (DFE)62 µg [USDA]calculated65 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.147 mg [USDA]0.063 mg [USDA]
Potassium348 mg [USDA]144 mg [USDA]
Magnesium33 mg [USDA]25 mg [USDA]
Calcium254 mg [USDA]150 mg [USDA]
Iron1.6 mg [USDA]0.84 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.39 mg [USDA]0.27 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )2870 µg [USDA]1730 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]10 µg [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )27 µg [USDA]26 µg [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein2.92 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.35% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.49% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.03% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 6.35% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.03% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber4.1 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 16.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 13.7% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 16.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 16.4% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:1241 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 2870 µg (label amount), gives 239 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 27 µg (label amount), gives 1.12 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 34.4% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C93.4 mg
Vitamin E0.66 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.4% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 22% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.43% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 8.8% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) listed separately390 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 433% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 557% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 557% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 649% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 708% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)62 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 15.5% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 31% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 18.8% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 15.5% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 15.5% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.147 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.3% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 12.2% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.19% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 11.3% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 11.3% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium348 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13.4% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 9.94% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.94% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 12.4% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 9.91% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium33 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.3% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 12.2% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.3% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 15% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium254 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 25.4% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 36.3% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 26.7% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 25.4% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 25.4% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron1.6 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.89% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 10.8% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 10% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 14.5% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.89% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.72–8.16% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.39 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.88% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.57% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.2% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 4.88% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.98–13% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.113 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.3% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 14.1% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.3% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 10.3% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.347 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 31.5% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 31.5% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 21.7% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 31.5% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 31.5% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.9 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.64% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.5% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.29% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.5% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.46% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.053 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.89% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 4.42% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.08% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.42% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.92 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 51.1% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 30.7% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 18.4% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus55 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.86% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 10% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.5% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium53 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.53% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.65% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.65% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 2.65% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline0.5 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.118% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.125% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.118% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

Calcium

40.9% of the calcium absorbed

The Weaver 1999 table gives 49.3%; the difference is probably load normalization

Heaney & Weaver 1990, Am J Clin Nutr 51:656 [source] Human trial, n=11

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

kale

Most of the carbohydrate in raw kale is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 0.75 g of glucose and about 0.65 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose0.75 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.65 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents1.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar3.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-234: Curly kale, raw [source]

kale (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled kale is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 0.6 g of glucose and about 0.4 g of fructose, plus traces of sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose0.6 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.4 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars0.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar3.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar2.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-649: Curly kale, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(from progoitrin)

As the source gives it
up to 10 µmol per 100 g serving (upper bound: 'less than 10'), per 100 g serving [source]
Dose
raw: up to 10 µmol per 100 g serving (upper bound: 'less than 10'), per 100 g serving; not in totals: the source gives only a maximumboiled: up to 10 µmol per 100 g serving (upper bound: 'less than 10'), per 100 g serving; not in totals: the source gives only a maximum
Threshold
literature human dose: the threshold is not a dose per kg body weight per day [source]
Effect
Reduces thyroid iodine uptake at high doses. By these figures, reaching 194 µmol would take ~2 kg of broccoli or kale in one go. Clinical cases are extreme, e.g. 1–1.5 kg/day of raw bok choy for months (NEJM 2010 case report). Human trial

(total)

As the source gives it
64–884 µmol/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 64–884 µmol in 100 gboiled: 64–884 µmol in 100 g (raw value; the source gives no cooking figure)
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
No documented adverse effects at dietary intakes. Human observational study

S-methylcysteine sulfoxide (SMCSO)

As the source gives it
96 mg/100 g (median), fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 96 mg in 100 gboiled: 96 mg in 100 g (raw value; the source gives no cooking figure)
Threshold
No established thresholdKnown as the 'kale anemia factor' in grazing cattle and sheep; no human effect sourced
Effect
Causes anemia in ruminants fed large amounts of kale forage; no human adverse effect found. Animal study

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources