Swiss chard

In plain English

Swiss chard is the same species as beets, bred for its leaves instead of its root, and it shares the family chemistry: and . In one New Zealand study, raw leaves had 525.5 mg of oxalate per 100 g, 252.3 mg of it soluble. Boiling cut the total by 45% and the soluble form by 53%. Its nitrate averages 169 mg per 100 g in EU data, so about 153 g reaches the acceptable daily intake for a 70 kg adult (259 mg). Where chard wins is vitamin K1: 100 g raw has 830 µg, 922% of the 90 µg US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Beta vulgaris (leaf beet group)
Kingdom
plant
Family
Amaranthaceae
Part eaten
leaf and leaf stalk
In the kitchen
vegetable

The same species as beets, bred for its leaves.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 526 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human observational study
  • : 151–169 mg in 100 g, close to the safe limit. Regulatory assessment

What changes it

  • Oxalate: Boiling chard leaves for 10 minutes and discarding the water cut soluble 53% (252.3 to 117.7 mg/100 g) and total oxalate 45% (525.5 to 291.1). Across vegetables, boiling cut soluble oxalate 30–87%. [source]
  • Nitrate: EFSA: vegetables lost 16–79% of when cooked (chard not measured separately). [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 169991]boiled [FDC 170401]
Protein1.8 g [USDA]1.88 g [USDA]
Fat0.2 g [USDA]0.08 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential3.74 g [USDA]calculated4.13 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber1.6 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code2.1 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Sugars1.1 g [USDA]imputed1.1 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:1306 µg [USDA]calculated306 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C30 mg [USDA]18 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E1.89 mg [USDA]imputed1.89 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food830 µg [USDA]imputed327 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)14 µg [USDA]calculated9 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.099 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code0.085 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Potassium379 mg [USDA]549 mg [USDA]
Magnesium81 mg [USDA]86 mg [USDA]
Calcium51 mg [USDA]58 mg [USDA]
Iron1.8 mg [USDA]2.26 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.36 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code0.33 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )3650 µg [USDA]3650 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )45 µg [USDA]45 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein1.8 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.91% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.1% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 3.91% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.1% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber1.6 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 5.33% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.4% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 6.4% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:1306 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 3650 µg (label amount), gives 304 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 45 µg (label amount), gives 1.88 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 43.7% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C30 mg
Vitamin E1.89 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 12.6% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 63% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 17.2% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 27% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 25.2% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food830 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 922% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 1190% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 1190% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 1380% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 1510% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)14 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.5% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 7% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 4.24% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 3.5% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 3.5% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.099 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.62% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 8.25% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.19% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.62% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 7.62% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium379 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.6% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 10.8% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.8% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13.5% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 10.8% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium81 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 25.3% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 30% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 27% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 25.3% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 36.8% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium51 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.1% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 7.29% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.37% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 5.1% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.1% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron1.8 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 12.2% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 11.2% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 16.4% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.06–9.18% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.36 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.5% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.14% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.8% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 4.5% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.67–12% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.04 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.64% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.64% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.64% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.09 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.18% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 8.18% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.62% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.18% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 8.18% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.9 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.64% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.5% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.29% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.5% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.46% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.179 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 19.9% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 14.9% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 13.8% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.9% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.366 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 20.3% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 12.2% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.32% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus46 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.57% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 8.36% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.36% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.6% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium213 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.2% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.6% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.6% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 10.6% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline18 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.24% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.5% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.24% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

Swiss chard

Most of the carbohydrate in raw Swiss chard is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 2.7 g of glucose and about 0.2 g of fructose, plus traces of sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose2.7 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.2 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch2.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars0.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents2.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-223: Chard, Swiss, raw [source]

Swiss chard (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled Swiss chard is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 3 g of glucose and about 0.2 g of fructose, plus traces of sucrose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose3 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.2 g, plus traces of sucrose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch2.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digestedtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars0.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents3.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-224: Chard, Swiss, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

As the source gives it
525.5 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 526 mg in 100 gboiled: 291 mg in 100 g (measured on boiled chard)
Cooking
Boiling chard leaves for 10 minutes and discarding the water cut soluble oxalate 53% (252.3 to 117.7 mg/100 g) and total oxalate 45% (525.5 to 291.1). Across vegetables, boiling cut soluble oxalate 30–87%. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No established threshold: no EFSA/JECFA/WHO/FDA value for . Clinical context only, not a safety limit: the Oxalosis & Hyperoxaluria Foundation gives a low-oxalate diet target of under 100 mg/day, and 'often under 50 mg per day' for people with significantly elevated urinary oxalate. The National Kidney Foundation says limiting very high-oxalate foods 'such as spinach, Swiss chard, almonds, navy beans, beets and rhubarb may be warranted' and advises eating calcium-rich foods at the same meal.
Effect
In three large US cohorts, the highest vs lowest fifth of dietary intake was linked to about 21–22% higher kidney stone risk in men and older women, but the authors concluded dietary oxalate is not a major risk factor for stones. Human observational study
Over time
Repeated intake: kidney stones

Most kidney stones are calcium , and stone crystals develop over weeks or months. In a large US study, men and older women eating the most oxalate had about a 21–22% higher risk of stones than those eating the least; in younger women there was no link. The authors concluded that dietary oxalate is not a major risk factor. The National Kidney Foundation advises eating enough calcium-rich foods rather than strictly limiting oxalate, and says limiting very high oxalate foods may be warranted for people with high urine oxalate despite getting enough calcium. Human observational study

Sources: MedlinePlus (US National Library of Medicine), Kidney stones; National Kidney Foundation, Six easy ways to prevent kidney stones (updated 26 Aug 2025); Taylor EN & Curhan GC 2007, J Am Soc Nephrol 18(7):2198–2204, abstract; National Kidney Foundation, as above

As the source gives it
151–169 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 151–169 mg in 100 gboiled: 151–169 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
Cooking
EFSA: vegetables lost 16–79% of nitrate when cooked (chard not measured separately). [source]
Threshold
0.583–0.653 of the [source]: 3.7 mg ion/kg body weight/day = 259 mg/day at 70 kg (SCF 1997, reconfirmed JECFA 2002, retained EFSA 2017). = 222 mg/day for a 60 kg adult (EFSA 2008). Same ADI as the spinach-nitrate entry. EU maximum levels cover spinach, lettuce and rucola; no chard-specific EU limit was confirmed in this pass.
Effect
EFSA: from vegetables is unlikely to cause appreciable health risk, and the benefits of eating vegetables prevail. Total intake from all sources can exceed the . Regulatory assessment
Used in / studied for
See beetroot nitrate: same compound.Human trial

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources