Carrot
In plain English
Carrots are famous for vitamin A, but they don't contain any. They contain beta-carotene, which your body has to convert: 100 g of raw carrot gives 835 µg , 119% of the 700 µg US for women. Preparation matters. In a very small study (4 people), carrots stir-fried in oil gave 6.5 times more vitamin A than raw carrots. Carrots also make their own fungicide, falcarinol, at 0.7–4.06 mg per 100 g. No safety limit has been set for it, and no toxic effect has been reported at normal carrot intakes.
Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.
ID card
- Scientific name
- Daucus carota subsp. sativus
- Kingdom
- plant
- Family
- Apiaceae
- Part eaten
- root (taproot)
- In the kitchen
- vegetable
Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).
Top 3 nutrients
% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.
What you have to deal with
100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.
- Falcarinol: 0.7–4.06 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Cell study
- Falcarindiol: 0.48–4.04 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Animal study
- Falcarindiol-3-acetate: 0.51–2.16 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Not graded
What changes it
- Falcarinol: Evenly distributed through the root, so peeling removes little. Boiling reduces polyacetylenes; whole carrots retain more than cut pieces. [source]
- Falcarindiol: Concentrated mainly in the peel, so peeling removes a large share (no % found). Main cause of bitter off-taste. [source]
- Falcarindiol-3-acetate: Reduced by hot-water treatment; no % found. [source]
- Vitamin A (beta-carotene): raw ~11% vs stir-fried in oil 75% (6.5× more retinol) [source] Human trial, n=4
Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.
Show the numbersHide the numbers
Key nutrients per 100 g
USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.
| Nutrient | raw [FDC 170393] | boiled [FDC 170394] |
|---|---|---|
| Protein | 0.93 g [USDA]imputed | 0.76 g [USDA] |
| Fat | 0.24 g [USDA]imputed | 0.18 g [USDA] |
| Carbohydrate: not essential | 9.58 g [USDA]calculated | 8.22 g [USDA]calculated |
| The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day] | ||
| Fiber | 2.8 g [USDA] | 3 g [USDA] |
| Sugars | 4.74 g [USDA]calculated | 3.45 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code |
| Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:1 | 835 µg [USDA]calculated | 852 µg [USDA]calculated |
| Vitamin C | 5.9 mg [USDA] | 3.6 mg [USDA] |
| Vitamin D | 0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA] | 0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA] |
| Vitamin E | 0.66 mg [USDA]imputed | 1.03 mg [USDA] |
| Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food | 13.2 µg [USDA] | 13.7 µg [USDA] |
| Folate (DFE) | 19 µg [USDA]calculated | 14 µg [USDA]calculated |
| Vitamin B6 | 0.138 mg [USDA] | 0.153 mg [USDA] |
| Potassium | 320 mg [USDA] | 235 mg [USDA] |
| Magnesium | 12 mg [USDA] | 10 mg [USDA] |
| Calcium | 33 mg [USDA] | 30 mg [USDA] |
| Iron | 0.3 mg [USDA] | 0.34 mg [USDA] |
| Zinc | 0.24 mg [USDA] | 0.2 mg [USDA] |
| Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not ) | 8280 µg [USDA]imputed | 8330 µg [USDA] |
| Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not ) | 3480 µg [USDA] | 3780 µg [USDA] |
| Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not ) | 0 µg [USDA] | 0 µg [USDA]imputed |
Daily amounts per 100 g raw
The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.
| Nutrient | Per 100 g raw | Daily amounts, woman 31–50 |
|---|---|---|
| Protein | 0.93 g |
|
| Fiber | 2.8 g | |
| Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:1 | 835 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 8280 µg (label amount), gives 690 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 3480 µg (label amount), gives 145 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE |
|
| Vitamin C | 5.9 mg | |
| Vitamin E | 0.66 mg | |
| Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food | 13.2 µg |
|
| Folate (DFE) | 19 µg |
|
| Vitamin B6 | 0.138 mg |
|
| Potassium | 320 mg | |
| Magnesium | 12 mg | |
| Calcium | 33 mg | |
| Ironnonheme iron | 0.3 mg |
|
| Zinc | 0.24 mg |
|
Other nutrients with a daily amount
| Nutrient | Per 100 g raw | Daily amounts, woman 31–50 |
|---|---|---|
| Vitamin D | 0 µg (assumed zero by USDA) | |
| Thiamin | 0.066 mg | |
| Riboflavin | 0.058 mg | |
| Niacin | not computed |
|
| Vitamin B12 | 0 µg (assumed zero by USDA) | |
| Selenium | 0.1 µg | |
| Iodine | not computed |
|
| Copper | 0.045 mg | |
| Manganese | 0.143 mg | |
| Phosphorus | 35 mg | |
| Sodium | 69 mg |
|
| Choline | 8.8 mg |
Absorption
Vitamin A (beta-carotene)
raw ~11% vs stir-fried in oil 75% (6.5× more retinol)
Very small study (n=4); show with that caveat
Ghavami, Coward & Bluck 2012, Br J Nutr [source] Human trial, n=4
What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes
Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.
carrot
Most of the carbohydrate in raw carrot is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 3.7 g of glucose and about 3.6 g of fructose.
| Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose | 3.7 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose | 3.6 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Starch | 0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Glucosefree glucose | 1.1 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Fructosefree fructose | 1.1 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested | 5 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is | 0 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is | 0 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is | trace [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split | 0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Total sugars | 7.2 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents | 7.7 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar | 3.9 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar | 2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
UK CoFID 2021 13-496: Carrots, old, raw [source]
carrot (boiled)
Most of the carbohydrate in boiled carrot is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 3.15 g of glucose and about 2.65 g of fructose.
| Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose | 3.15 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose | 2.65 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Starch | 0.3 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Glucosefree glucose | 0.9 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Fructosefree fructose | 0.7 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested | 3.9 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is | 0 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is | 0 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is | trace [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split | 0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Total sugars | 5.5 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents | 6 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar | 2.8 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
| Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar | 2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021] |
UK CoFID 2021 13-497: Carrots, old, boiled in unsalted water [source]
What comes with it: compounds
Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.
Falcarinol (carotatoxin)
- As the source gives it
- 0.7–4.06 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
- Dose
- raw: 0.7–4.06 mg in 100 gboiled: 0.7–4.06 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
- Cooking
- Evenly distributed through the root, so peeling removes little. Boiling reduces polyacetylenes; whole carrots retain more than cut pieces. [source]
- Threshold
- No established threshold [source]No established threshold. Literature toxicology only: neurotoxic in mice at high concentrations (Crosby & Aharonson 1967); LD50 100 mg/kg in mice by injection, not oral (via Alfurayhi et al. 2023 review)
- Effect
- Biphasic (hormesis): stimulates cell growth at low concentrations, kills cells at high ones. Allergenic on repeated skin contact. No toxic effect reported at normal carrot intakes. Cell study
- Used in / studied for
- Studied for colorectal cancer prevention: carrot or pure falcarinol reduced precancerous lesions and tumours in rats. Authors estimate a human equivalent of ~12 mg falcarinol + 12 mg falcarindiol/day. A 1-year human carrot-juice trial (NCT06335420) is registered; no results found.Dose studied: ~12 mg/day (rat-derived human estimate)In a portion: 80 g raw carrot ≈ 0.56–3.2 mg (calculated from 0.70–4.06 mg/100 g)Animal study [source]
Falcarindiol
- As the source gives it
- 0.48–4.04 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
- Dose
- raw: 0.48–4.04 mg in 100 gboiled: 0.48–4.04 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
- Cooking
- Concentrated mainly in the peel, so peeling removes a large share (no % found). Main cause of bitter off-taste. [source]
- Threshold
- No established threshold [source]No established threshold. LD50 >200 mg/kg in rats (route not stated), via review
- Effect
- Bitter taste; antifungal in the plant. No documented human toxicity at dietary levels. Animal study
- Used in / studied for
- Co-administered with falcarinol in the 2017 rat colon study; synergistic in cell studies.Animal study [source]
Falcarindiol-3-acetate
- As the source gives it
- 0.51–2.16 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
- Dose
- raw: 0.51–2.16 mg in 100 gboiled: 0.51–2.16 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
- Cooking
- Reduced by hot-water treatment; no % found. [source]
- Threshold
- No established thresholdNo established threshold; no toxicology found
- Effect
- No human toxicity data found. Not graded
0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.
Sources
- USDA FDC 170393: Carrots, raw
- USDA FDC 170394: Carrots, cooked, boiled, drained, without salt
- ID card: Kew Plants of the World Online
- Pferschy-Wenzig et al. 2009, Food Chemistry 114:1083–1090, doi:10.1016/j.foodchem.2008.10.042
- Kobaek-Larsen 2017
- Kreutzmann et al. 2008
- Ghavami, Coward & Bluck 2012, Br J Nutr