Tofu (firm)

Glycine max · Legume (pea and bean) family · seed (soybeans, made into curd) · plant · details

What it fights you with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

  • : 177–621 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

Every compound listed for this food, with its source and threshold: Show the numbers

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50
Portion (raw)

100 g raw, as eaten. Household measures are USDA FoodData Central's own for this food.

This portion of raw firm tofu gives 68.3% of a day's calcium and 65.6% of manganese. None of the compounds measured here has a set safety limit.

What you get

Top 3 nutrients, % of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 177–621 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for raw; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Phytate: Soaking, sprouting and fermenting lower . [source]

Seeds are the plant's offspring and among its most defended parts.

The story (per 100 g)

Tofu is made from soybeans, the same plant as edamame. This USDA entry is firm tofu set with calcium sulfate: 100 g gives 683 mg of calcium, 68.3% of the US for women, and 17.3 g of protein.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 172475]
Protein17.3 g [USDA]
Fat8.72 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential2.78 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2.3 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin C0.2 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Vitamin D by USDA (not measured) [USDA]
Folate (DFE)29 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.092 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Potassium237 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Magnesium58 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Calcium683 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Iron2.66 mg [USDA]imputed
Zinc1.57 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein17.3 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 37.5% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 38.4% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 29.7% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 37.5% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 29.7% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2.3 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 7.67% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 9.2% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin C0.2 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.267% of 75 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.5% of 40 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.211% of 95 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.444% of 45 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.444% of 45 mg [RNI] [source]
Folate (DFE)29 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.25% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 14.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 8.79% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 7.25% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 7.25% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.092 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.08% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 7.67% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.75% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.08% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 7.08% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium237 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.12% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 6.77% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.77% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.46% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 6.75% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium58 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 18.1% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 21.5% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 19.3% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 18.1% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 26.4% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium683 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 68.3% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 97.6% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 71.9% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 68.3% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 68.3% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron2.66 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.8% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 18% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 16.6% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 24.2% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.8% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.52–13.6% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc1.57 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 19.6% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 22.4% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16.9–20.9% of 7.5–9.3 mg, depends on diet [PRI] [source]EFSA's band nearest the phytate here (177–621 mg), treating it as the day's phytate; counts only foods with a phytate figure
  • Australia/NZ 19.6% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 16–52.3% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin Anot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin Dassumed zero by USDA (not measured)
  • US/Canada (your choice) assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 15 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 10 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 15 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 5 µg [AI] [source]
  • WHO assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 5 µg [RNI] [source]
Vitamin Enot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Vitamin Knot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Thiamin0.158 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.4% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 19.8% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.4% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 14.4% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.102 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.27% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 9.27% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.38% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.27% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 9.27% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (no USDA derivation code)
  • US/Canada (your choice) zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 4 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]
Selenium17.4 µg
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.378 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 42% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 31.5% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 29.1% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 31.5% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese1.18 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 65.6% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 39.4% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 23.6% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus190 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 27.1% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 34.5% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 34.5% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 19% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium14 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.933% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.7% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.7% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.7% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Cholinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

firm tofu

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for raw firm tofu. USDA lists no starch or sugars figure; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starchnot reported [USDA]
Total sugarsnot reported [USDA]
Glucosenot reported [USDA]
Fructosenot reported [USDA]
Sucrosenot reported [USDA]
Maltosenot reported [USDA]
Lactosenot reported [USDA]
Galactosenot reported [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)2.3 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 172475: Tofu, raw, firm, prepared with calcium sulfate (not matched to a CoFID food yet) [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

Soy allergens

Dose
raw: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer only
Threshold
Mandatory allergen labeling (US FDA, Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 (FALCPA)) [source]Soybeans are one of the nine major food allergens that must be declared on US labels (eight under FALCPA 2004; sesame added by the FASTER Act 2021, effective January 1, 2023).
Effect
Soy is a US major food allergen; it can cause allergic reactions in sensitized people. FDA: reactions range from hives and lip swelling to severe, life-threatening symptoms (anaphylaxis). Regulatory assessment

(phytic acid)

As the source gives it
177–621 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 177–621 mg in 100 g
Cooking
Soaking, sprouting and fermenting lower phytate. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No . EFSA instead raises zinc requirements with intake: at 300/600/900/1,200 mg phytate/day, men need 9.4/11.7/14.0/16.3 mg zinc and women 7.5/9.3/11.0/12.7 mg
Effect
Lowers zinc absorption; zinc needs rise as intake rises (see the threshold note). Regulatory assessment

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources