Cassava (yuca)

In plain English

Cassava is a starchy root that defends itself with cyanide. Sweet varieties typically contain 1.5–5.0 mg of hydrogen cyanide per 100 g raw. EFSA's single-day safe limit (the ) is 1.4 mg of cyanide for a 70 kg adult, so 100 g of raw sweet cassava at the top of that range holds about 3.4 times the limit. That is why the international food standard (Codex) says cassava must be peeled and fully cooked. In Australian tests, home cooking cut cyanide by 56% on average (28–83%), and traditional methods that soak, ferment or crush the root and then dry or roast it leave only 1.3–3.2% of it. On the label, 100 g of raw cassava has 20.6 mg of vitamin C, 27.5% of the 75 mg US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Manihot esculenta
Kingdom
plant
Family
Euphorbiaceae
Part eaten
tuberous root
In the kitchen
vegetable

Must be peeled and fully cooked before eating.

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • (linamarin, lotaustralin), as total HCN: 1.5–5 mg HCN in 100 g, over the safe limit. Regulatory assessment

What changes it

  • Cyanogenic glycosides (linamarin, lotaustralin), as total HCN: Home cooking (boiling, steaming, frying) cut HCN by 56% on average (range 28–83%) in FSANZ's tests. Traditional processing removes far more: retention is 25–33% after sun drying, 12.5–16.5% after heap fermentation, 1.3–2.2% after soaking and sun drying (lafun/fufu), 1.8–2.4% after soaking, fermenting and roasting (gari/farinha), and 1.5–3.2% after crushing and sun drying. Codex: cassava must be peeled and fully cooked before eating. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 169985]
Protein1.36 g [USDA]
Fat0.28 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential38.1 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber1.8 g [USDA]
Sugars1.7 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:10.667 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C20.6 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.19 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food1.9 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)27 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.088 mg [USDA]
Potassium271 mg [USDA]
Magnesium21 mg [USDA]
Calcium16 mg [USDA]
Iron0.27 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.34 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )8 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein1.36 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.96% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.02% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.34% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 2.96% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.34% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber1.8 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 6% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.2% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 7.2% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:10.667 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 8 µg (label amount), gives 0.667 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (assumed zero by USDA) (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (assumed zero by USDA) (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.0952% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C20.6 mg
Vitamin E0.19 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.27% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 6.33% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.73% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.71% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 2.53% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food1.9 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.11% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 2.71% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 2.71% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 3.17% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 3.45% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)27 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.75% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 13.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 8.18% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 6.75% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 6.75% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.088 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.77% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 7.33% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.5% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.77% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 6.77% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium271 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.4% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 7.74% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.74% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 9.68% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 7.72% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium21 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.56% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 7.78% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.56% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 9.55% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium16 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.6% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 2.29% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.68% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 1.6% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.6% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.5% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 1.82% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 1.69% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 2.45% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.5% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.459–1.38% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.34 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.25% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.86% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.53% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 4.25% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.47–11.3% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.087 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.91% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 10.9% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.91% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 7.91% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.048 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.36% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.36% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.36% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.36% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.7 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.27% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 1.17% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.17% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.69% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.1% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 8.33% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.69% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.33% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.384 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 21.3% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 12.8% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.68% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.86% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.91% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.91% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.7% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium14 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.933% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.7% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.7% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.7% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline23.7 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.58% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.92% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.58% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

cassava

Most of the carbohydrate in raw cassava is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 36 g of glucose and about 0.65 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose36 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.65 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch35.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested1.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not splitnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents36.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugarnot reported [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-208: Cassava, raw [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(linamarin, lotaustralin), as total HCN

As the source gives it
1.5–5 mg HCN/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 1.5–5 mg HCN in 100 g
Cooking
Home cooking (boiling, steaming, frying) cut HCN by 56% on average (range 28–83%) in FSANZ's tests. Traditional processing removes far more: retention is 25–33% after sun drying, 12.5–16.5% after heap fermentation, 1.3–2.2% after soaking and sun drying (lafun/fufu), 1.8–2.4% after soaking, fermenting and roasting (gari/farinha), and 1.5–3.2% after crushing and sun drying. Codex: cassava must be peeled and fully cooked before eating. [source]
Threshold
1.44–4.81 mg cyanide: 1.03–3.44 of the [source] 20 µg/kg = 1.4 mg at 70 kg, in a single day (EFSA). Worked out as HCN × 26.02/27.03 = cyanide.
Legal maximum in the food
Codex CXS 238 (sweet cassava): 'Sweet varieties of cassava are those that contain less than 50 mg/kg hydrogen cyanide (fresh weight basis).' (https://www.fao.org/input/download/standards/10368/CXS_238e.pdf). EU Reg 2022/1364 (now in Reg 2023/915), hydrocyanic acid incl. bound in cyanogenic glycosides: 'Cassava root (fresh, peeled) 50' mg/kg; 'Cassava flour and tapioca flour 10' mg/kg (https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/HTML/?uri=CELEX:32022R1364). FSANZ Code Schedule 19-6: 'a maximum level (ML) of 10 mg/kg of total hydrocyanic acid in RTE cassava chips' (https://www.foodstandards.gov.au/sites/default/files/2023-11/Cassava%20chips%20and%20HCN.pdf).
Effect
Cyanide released from the glycoside blocks cellular respiration. Acute signs include headache, dizziness, mental confusion, cyanosis, twitching and convulsions; EFSA reports a lethal dose of 0.5–3.5 mg/kg body weight. Regulatory assessment

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources