Iceberg lettuce

In plain English

Iceberg lettuce is 95.6% water, but it still carries : 84.4–87.5 mg per 100 g (EU median and mean). At the mean, about 296 g reaches the acceptable daily intake for a 70 kg adult (259 mg). The EU caps iceberg at 2,000 mg per kg grown outdoors and 2,500 mg per kg grown under cover. 100 g has 24.1 µg vitamin K1, 26.8% of the 90 µg US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Lactuca sativa
Kingdom
plant
Family
Asteraceae
Part eaten
leaves
In the kitchen
vegetable

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 84.4–87.5 mg in 100 g, well under the safe limit. Regulatory assessment

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for raw; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Nitrate: Washing cuts 10–15%. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 169248]
Protein0.9 g [USDA]imputed
Fat0.14 g [USDA]imputed
Carbohydrate: not essential2.97 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber1.2 g [USDA]
Sugars1.97 g [USDA]calculated
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:125.1 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C2.8 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.18 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food24.1 µg [USDA]
Folate (DFE)29 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.042 mg [USDA]
Potassium141 mg [USDA]
Magnesium7 mg [USDA]
Calcium18 mg [USDA]
Iron0.41 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.15 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )299 µg [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )4 µg [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein0.9 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.96% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.55% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 1.96% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.55% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber1.2 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 4% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 4.8% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:125.1 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 299 µg (label amount), gives 24.9 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 4 µg (label amount), gives 0.167 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.58% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C2.8 mg
Vitamin E0.18 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.2% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 6% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.64% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.57% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 2.4% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food24.1 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 26.8% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 34.4% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 34.4% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 40.2% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 43.8% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)29 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.25% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 14.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 8.79% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 7.25% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 7.25% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.042 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.23% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 3.5% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.62% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.23% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 3.23% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium141 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.42% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 4.03% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.03% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.04% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 4.02% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium7 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.19% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 2.59% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.33% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.19% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.18% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium18 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.8% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 2.57% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.89% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 1.8% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.8% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.41 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.28% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 2.77% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 2.56% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 3.73% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.28% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.697–2.09% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.15 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.88% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.14% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 1.88% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 1.53–5% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.041 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.73% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.12% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.73% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.73% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.025 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.27% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 2.27% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.56% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.27% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.27% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.1 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.182% of 55 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 0.167% of 60 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.143% of 70 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.167% of 60 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.385% of 26 µg [RNI] [source]
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.025 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.78% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 2.08% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.92% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.08% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.125 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.94% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.17% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.5% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus20 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.86% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.64% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.64% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium10 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.667% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.5% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.5% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.5% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline6.7 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 1.58% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.68% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.58% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

iceberg lettuce

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for raw iceberg lettuce. USDA lists 1.97 g of sugars in 100 g and gives no starch figure; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starchnot reported [USDA]
Total sugars1.97 g [USDA]
Glucose0.91 g [USDA]
Fructose1 g [USDA]
Sucrose0.05 g [USDA]
Maltose0 g [USDA]
Lactose0 g [USDA]
Galactose0 g [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)1.2 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 169248: Lettuce, iceberg (includes crisphead types), raw (no CoFID entry for iceberg lettuce) [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

As the source gives it
84.4–87.5 mg/100 g, fresh [source]
Dose
raw: 84.4–87.5 mg in 100 g
Cooking
Washing cuts nitrate 10–15%. [source]
Threshold
0.326–0.338 of the [source]: 3.7 mg ion/kg body weight/day = 259 mg/day at 70 kg (SCF 1997, reconfirmed JECFA 2002, retained EFSA 2017).
Legal maximum in the food
EU Reg 2023/915: iceberg-type lettuce max 2,000 mg/kg grown outdoors, 2,500 mg/kg under cover [source]
Effect
EFSA: vegetable exposure unlikely to cause appreciable health risk. Regulatory assessment

Sesquiterpene lactones (lactucin, lactucopicrin)

Dose
raw: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer only
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
The bitter taste. Isolated compounds were sedative/analgesic in mice at 15–30 mg/kg. Animal study
Used in / studied for
'Lettuce opium' (mainly wild lettuce) was a traditional sedative; little clinical evidence. A 2-week trial of lettuce SEED capsules (1,000 mg/day) improved sleep scores in pregnant women.Traditional use (not evidence) [source]

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources