Peas

In plain English

Peas are immature seeds, and seeds are heavily defended. Raw green peas carry , which binds zinc and iron: 40.8–93.2 mg per 100 g, rising as the peas mature. Ordinary cooking cut it by 47.9%, and cooking readily removed their trypsin inhibitors (measured as enzyme activity, not weight). 100 g raw peas have 40 mg vitamin C (53.3% of the 75 mg US for women) and 5.7 g fiber (22.8% of the 25 g US ).

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Pisum sativum
Kingdom
plant
Family
Fabaceae
Part eaten
immature seeds
In the kitchen
vegetable

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 40.8–93.2 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Cell study

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for raw; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Phytate: Ordinary cooking cut phytic acid 47.9%. [source]
  • Trypsin inhibitors: 'Trypsin inhibitor and were readily removed' by cooking. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 170419]boiled [FDC 170420]
Protein5.42 g [USDA]5.36 g [USDA]
Fat0.4 g [USDA]0.22 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential14.4 g [USDA]calculated15.6 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber5.7 g [USDA]imputed5.5 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Sugars5.67 g [USDA]calculated5.93 g [USDA]calculated
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:138.3 µg [USDA]calculated40.1 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C40 mg [USDA]14.2 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.13 mg [USDA]0.14 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food24.8 µg [USDA]imputed25.9 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)65 µg [USDA]calculated63 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.169 mg [USDA]0.216 mg [USDA]
Potassium244 mg [USDA]271 mg [USDA]
Magnesium33 mg [USDA]39 mg [USDA]
Calcium25 mg [USDA]27 mg [USDA]
Iron1.47 mg [USDA]1.54 mg [USDA]
Zinc1.24 mg [USDA]1.19 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )449 µg [USDA]470 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )21 µg [USDA]22 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein5.42 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.8% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 12% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 9.33% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 11.8% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 9.33% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber5.7 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 22.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 19% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 22.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 22.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 22.8% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:138.3 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 449 µg (label amount), gives 37.4 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 21 µg (label amount), gives 0.875 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.47% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C40 mg
Vitamin E0.13 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.867% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 4.33% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.18% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.86% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 1.73% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food24.8 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 27.6% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 35.4% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 35.4% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 41.3% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 45.1% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)65 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 16.2% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 32.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 19.7% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 16.2% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 16.2% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.169 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 14.1% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.6% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 13% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 13% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium244 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 9.38% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 6.97% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 6.97% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.71% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 6.95% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium33 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.3% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 12.2% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.3% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 15% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium25 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.5% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 3.57% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.63% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 2.5% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.5% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron1.47 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.17% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 9.93% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 9.19% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 13.4% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.17% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.5–7.5% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc1.24 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 15.5% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 17.7% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16.5% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 15.5% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 12.7–41.3% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.266 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 24.2% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 33.2% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 24.2% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 24.2% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.132 mg
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium1.8 µg
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.176 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 19.6% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 14.7% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 13.5% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.7% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.41 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 22.8% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 13.7% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.2% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus108 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 15.4% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 19.6% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 19.6% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.8% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium5 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.333% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.25% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.25% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.25% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline28.4 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.68% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.1% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 6.68% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

peas

Most of the carbohydrate in raw peas is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 8.15 g of glucose and about 1.15 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose8.15 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.15 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch7 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose0.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested2.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars2.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents11.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar5.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar4.7 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-438: Peas, raw [source]

peas (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled peas is starch, which your body breaks down to glucose. 100 g ends up as about 8.2 g of glucose and about 0.6 g of fructose, plus traces of glucose and fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose8.2 g, plus traces of glucose [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose0.6 g, plus traces of fructose [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch7.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucosetrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructosetrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents10 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar5.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar4.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-439: Peas, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

(phytic acid)

As the source gives it
1.93–4.41 mg/g, DRY matter [source]
Dose
raw: 40.8–93.2 mg in 100 g (converted from dry weight using USDA water content (78.86 g per 100 g, FDC 170419))boiled: 40.8–93.2 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note; converted from dry weight using USDA water content (78.86 g per 100 g, FDC 170419))
Cooking
Ordinary cooking cut phytic acid 47.9%. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
Binds minerals (zinc, iron). Cell study

Trypsin inhibitors

Dose
raw: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer onlyboiled: not in totals: no amount in the source data; explainer only
Cooking
'Trypsin inhibitor and lectins were readily removed' by cooking. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
Did not affect in-vitro protein digestibility in raw green peas. Cell study

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources