Cauliflower

In plain English

Cauliflower is the same species as broccoli, bred for its flower head, but it carries much less glucoraphanin than broccoli, and less progoitrin than Brussels sprouts or rutabaga: 0–3.33 mg progoitrin and 0–1.98 mg glucoraphanin per 100 g raw, across four studies of US cultivars. Its is moderate, 95 mg per 100 g, far below spinach. Boiling lowered its ; steaming and microwaving did not. 100 g raw has 48.2 mg vitamin C, 64.3% of the 75 mg US for women.

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50

ID card

Scientific name
Brassica oleracea var. botrytis
Kingdom
plant
Family
Brassicaceae
Part eaten
immature flower head (curd)
In the kitchen
vegetable

Source: Kew Plants of the World Online (not yet checked against Kew).

Top 3 nutrients

% of the US daily amount, 100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g raw, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • Progoitrin: 0–3.33 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human trial
  • : 95 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Human observational study
  • Glucoraphanin: 0–1.98 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Cell study

What changes it

  • Progoitrin: Boiling significantly lowered (progoitrin to ~60% of fresh); steaming and microwaving did not. [source]

Ripe fruit is the one part of a plant that 'wants' to be eaten, so its seeds get spread, and it drops its defenses as it ripens. Green tomatoes carry 0.9–55 mg of tomatine per 100 g; red ones 0.03–0.08 mg (Friedman & Levin 1995). Seeds, roots, tubers and leaves stay defended.

Add to the plate builder

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 169986]boiled [FDC 170397]
Protein1.92 g [USDA]1.84 g [USDA]
Fat0.28 g [USDA]imputed0.45 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential4.97 g [USDA]calculated4.11 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber2 g [USDA]2.3 g [USDA]
Sugars1.91 g [USDA]2.08 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:10 µg [USDA]calculated0.583 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin C48.2 mg [USDA]44.3 mg [USDA]
Vitamin D0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]0 µg ( by USDA) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.08 mg [USDA]imputed0.07 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) listed separately15.5 µg [USDA]imputed13.8 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)57 µg [USDA]calculated44 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.184 mg [USDA]0.173 mg [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Potassium299 mg [USDA]142 mg [USDA]
Magnesium15 mg [USDA]9 mg [USDA]
Calcium22 mg [USDA]16 mg [USDA]
Iron0.42 mg [USDA]0.32 mg [USDA]
Zinc0.27 mg [USDA]0.17 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]7 µg [USDA]imputed
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]imputed
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg [USDA]0 µg [USDA]imputed

Daily amounts per 100 g raw

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein1.92 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.17% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 4.27% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.3% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 4.17% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.3% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber2 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 6.67% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 8% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:10 µg RAEfrom Beta-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: 0 µg (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 700 µg [RDA] [source]µg , so it compares directly with the plate's RAE figure
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C48.2 mg
Vitamin E0.08 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.533% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 2.67% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.727% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.14% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 1.07% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) listed separately15.5 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 17.2% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 22.1% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 22.1% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 25.8% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 28.2% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)57 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.2% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 28.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 17.3% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 14.2% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 14.2% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.184 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14.2% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 15.3% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11.5% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14.2% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 14.2% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium299 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.5% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 8.54% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.54% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.7% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 8.52% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium15 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.69% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 5.56% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.69% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 6.82% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium22 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.2% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 3.14% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.32% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 2.2% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.2% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron0.42 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.33% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 2.84% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 2.62% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 3.82% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 2.33% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 0.714–2.14% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc0.27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.38% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 3.86% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.6% of 7.5 mg [PRI] [source]lowest band (300 mg phytate/day) shown, because the plate's phytate figure is not usable yet
  • Australia/NZ 3.38% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.76–9% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g rawDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin D0 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 15 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 10 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 15 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 5 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Thiamin0.05 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.55% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 6.25% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.55% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 4.55% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.06 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.45% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.45% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.75% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.45% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.45% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (assumed zero by USDA)
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0% of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]every food is by USDA
  • UK 0% of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • EU (EFSA) 0% of 4 µg [AI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • Australia/NZ 0% of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]every food is by USDA
  • WHO 0% of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]every food is by USDA
Selenium0.6 µg
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.039 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 4.33% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 3.25% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.25% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.155 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 8.61% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 5.17% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 3.1% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus44 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 6.29% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 8% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 4.4% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium30 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 1.5% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 1.5% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 1.5% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline44.3 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 10.4% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 11.1% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 10.4% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

cauliflower

Most of the carbohydrate in raw cauliflower is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.6 g of glucose and about 1.5 g of fructose.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starch0.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose1.2 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split1.3 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars2.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents4.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.8 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-512: Cauliflower, raw [source]

cauliflower (boiled)

Most of the carbohydrate in boiled cauliflower is sugar. 100 g ends up as about 1.15 g of glucose and about 1.25 g of fructose, plus traces of starch.

Becomes glucosefree glucose + starch + half of sucrose1.15 g, plus traces of starch [UK CoFID 2021]
Becomes fructosefree fructose + half of sucrose1.25 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Starchtrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Glucosefree glucose0.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fructosefree fructose1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Sucrosehalf glucose, half fructose once digested0.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Maltoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Lactoseother sugar, shown as it is0 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Galactoseother sugar, shown as it istrace [UK CoFID 2021]
Oligosaccharidesshown on its own, not split1.1 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Total sugars2.4 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Carbohydrate (CoFID, available)starch + sugars + oligosaccharides, as monosaccharide equivalents3.5 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (AOAC)fiber, not counted as sugar1.9 g [UK CoFID 2021]
Fiber (NSP)fiber, not counted as sugar1.6 g [UK CoFID 2021]

UK CoFID 2021 13-513: Cauliflower, boiled in unsalted water [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

Progoitrin ( precursor)

As the source gives it
0–3.33 mg/100 g, fresh [source]
Dose
raw: 0–3.33 mg in 100 gboiled: 0–3.33 mg in 100 g (raw value; cooking changes this, see note)
Cooking
Boiling significantly lowered glucosinolates (progoitrin to ~60% of fresh); steaming and microwaving did not. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No human . Comparison only: 194 µmol inhibited thyroid iodine uptake, 77 µmol did not; <70 µmol progoitrin per serving 'unlikely' to reduce thyroid hormone production (Felker 2016)
Effect
Low progoitrin compared with Brussels sprouts and swede. Human trial

As the source gives it
95 mg/100 g, fresh [source]
Dose
raw: 95 mg in 100 gboiled: 95 mg in 100 g (raw value; the source gives no cooking figure)
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
Moderate; far below spinach. Human observational study
Over time
Repeated intake: kidney stones

Most kidney stones are calcium , and stone crystals develop over weeks or months. In a large US study, men and older women eating the most oxalate had about a 21–22% higher risk of stones than those eating the least; in younger women there was no link. The authors concluded that dietary oxalate is not a major risk factor. The National Kidney Foundation advises eating enough calcium-rich foods rather than strictly limiting oxalate, and says limiting very high oxalate foods may be warranted for people with high urine oxalate despite getting enough calcium. Human observational study

Sources: MedlinePlus (US National Library of Medicine), Kidney stones; National Kidney Foundation, Six easy ways to prevent kidney stones (updated 26 Aug 2025); Taylor EN & Curhan GC 2007, J Am Soc Nephrol 18(7):2198–2204, abstract; National Kidney Foundation, as above

Glucoraphanin (sulforaphane precursor)

As the source gives it
0–1.98 mg/100 g, fresh [source]
Dose
raw: 0–1.98 mg in 100 gboiled: 0–1.98 mg in 100 g (raw value; the source gives no cooking figure)
Threshold
No established threshold
Effect
Very low compared with broccoli. Cell study

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources