Black beans

Phaseolus vulgaris · Legume (pea and bean) family · seed · plant · details

What it fights you with

Poisonous raw: never eat raw or undercooked black beans

100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

  • : 131–292 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

Every compound listed for this food, with its source and threshold: Show the numbers

Whose daily amount?
aged 31–50
Portion (boiled)

100 g boiled, as eaten. Household measures are USDA FoodData Central's own for this food.

This portion of boiled black beans gives 37.2% of a day's folate and 34.8% of fiber. None of the compounds measured here has a set safety limit.

What you get

Top 3 nutrients, % of the US daily amount, 100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg.

What you have to deal with

100 g boiled, for a 31–50-year-old woman, 70 kg. Each compound on its own; they are never added together.

  • : 131–292 mg in 100 g, no established safety limit. Regulatory assessment

1 compound listed for this food has no amount for boiled; it is under Show the numbers.

What changes it

  • Phytohemagglutinin: Not detected after soaking 12 h and boiling 30 min (same study). EFSA: soaking 6–12 h combined with heating at 100 °C or more for over 30 min is highly effective at deactivating bean . [source]
  • Phytate: Soaking, sprouting and fermenting lower . Cooked figures on this site are worked out from the raw figure and assume none is lost, so they may overstate what is eaten. [source]

Seeds are the plant's offspring and among its most defended parts.

The story (per 100 g)

Black beans are the same species as red kidney beans, and like them should not be eaten raw. Boiled, 100 g gives 149 µg of folate (about 37% of the US for women), 8.7 g of fiber (34.8% of the ) and 70 mg of magnesium (21.9%).

Figures and sources are under Show the numbers.

Show the numbersHide the numbers

Key nutrients per 100 g

USDA FoodData Central label amounts. Each preparation is FDC's own entry, per 100 g as eaten; no cooking factors are applied.

Nutrientraw [FDC 173734]boiled [FDC 173735]
Protein21.6 g [USDA]8.86 g [USDA]
Fat1.42 g [USDA]0.54 g [USDA]
Carbohydrate: not essential62.4 g [USDA]calculated23.7 g [USDA]calculated
The US National Academies: 'The lower limit of dietary carbohydrate compatible with life apparently is zero, provided that adequate amounts of protein and fat are consumed.' The same report says the amount that gives optimal health 'is unknown', and still sets a recommended 130 g a day. [IOM 2005, p. 275] [RDA 130 g a day]
Fiber15.5 g [USDA]imputed8.7 g [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Sugars2.12 g [USDA]imputed0.32 g [USDA]imputed
Vitamin A A carotenoids, converted to at IOM 12:1 / 24:10 µg (calculated by USDA) [USDA]calculated by USDA (not measured) [USDA]
Vitamin C0 mg (no USDA derivation code) [USDA]no FDC derivation code0 mg (no USDA derivation code) [USDA]no FDC derivation code
Vitamin D by USDA (not measured) [USDA] by USDA (not measured) [USDA]
Vitamin E0.21 mg [USDA]imputed0.87 mg [USDA]imputed
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food5.6 µg [USDA]imputed3.3 µg [USDA]imputed
Folate (DFE)444 µg [USDA]calculated149 µg [USDA]calculated
Vitamin B60.286 mg [USDA]0.069 mg [USDA]
Potassium1480 mg [USDA]355 mg [USDA]
Magnesium171 mg [USDA]70 mg [USDA]
Calcium123 mg [USDA]27 mg [USDA]
Iron5.02 mg [USDA]2.1 mg [USDA]
Zinc3.65 mg [USDA]1.12 mg [USDA]
Beta-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg (imputed by USDA) [USDA]imputed by USDA (not measured) [USDA]
Alpha-carotene A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg (imputed by USDA) [USDA]imputed by USDA (not measured) [USDA]
Beta-cryptoxanthin A carotenoid, label amount (not )0 µg (imputed by USDA) [USDA]imputed by USDA (not measured) [USDA]

Daily amounts per 100 g boiled

The same 100 g against five sets of daily amounts for adults aged 31–50: US/Canada (National Academies), UK (PHE 2016), EU (EFSA), Australia/NZ (NHMRC) and WHO/FAO. Your choice is highlighted. Each line names its type (RDA, RNI, PRI, RDI, AI, and so on) and links to its source. Label amounts, with no absorption factors. Where a body sets no value, it says so; no other body's figure is used instead.

NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Protein8.86 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 19.3% of 46 g [RDA] [source]
  • UK 19.7% of 45 g [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 15.2% of 58.1 g [PRI] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kg
  • Australia/NZ 19.3% of 46 g [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 15.2% of 58.1 g [safe level] [source]0.83 per kg body weight × 70 kgfor top-quality protein (PDCAAS 1.0): "The value accepted for the safe level of intake is 0.83 g/kg per day, for proteins with a protein digestibility-corrected amino acid score value of 1.0. (PDF p. 256)"
Fiber8.7 g
  • US/Canada (your choice) 34.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]total fiber
  • UK 29% of 30 g [recommendation] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 34.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 34.8% of 25 g [AI] [source]
  • WHO 34.8% of 25 g [at least] [source]
Vitamin Aprovitamin A carotenoids, converted to RAE at IOM 12:1 / 24:1assumed zero by USDA (not measured)from Beta-carotene: assumed zero by USDA (not measured) (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Alpha-carotene: assumed zero by USDA (not measured) (label amount), gives 0 µg RAEfrom Beta-cryptoxanthin: assumed zero by USDA (not measured) (label amount), gives 0 µg RAE
  • US/Canada (your choice) assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 700 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: UK and EFSA use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: Australia/NZ and WHO use retinol equivalents (RE); the plate uses [source]
Vitamin C0 mg (no USDA derivation code)
  • US/Canada (your choice) zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 75 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 40 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 95 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 45 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 45 mg [RNI] [source]
Vitamin E0.87 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.8% of 15 mg [RDA] [source]alpha-tocopherol
  • UK 29% of 3 mg [safe intake] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 7.91% of 11 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 12.4% of 7 mg [AI] [source]in mg alpha-tocopherol equivalents
  • WHO 11.6% of 7.5 mg [best estimate] [source]
Vitamin K1vitamin K1 (phylloquinone); K2 (MK-4) not reported by FDC for this food3.3 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 3.67% of 90 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • UK 4.71% of 70 µg [guidance] [source]about 1 µg per kg body weight
  • EU (EFSA) 4.71% of 70 µg [AI] [source]vitamin K1
  • Australia/NZ 5.5% of 60 µg [AI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
  • WHO 6% of 55 µg [RNI] [source]compared with vitamin K1, the form plants contain
Folate (DFE)149 µg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 37.2% of 400 µg [RDA] [source]µg DFE
  • UK 74.5% of 200 µg [RNI] [source]UK value is not DFE, so it is compared with food folate
  • EU (EFSA) 45.2% of 330 µg [PRI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • Australia/NZ 37.2% of 400 µg [RDI] [source]compared with folate DFE
  • WHO 37.2% of 400 µg [RNI] [source]compared with folate DFE
Vitamin B60.069 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.31% of 1.3 mg [RDA] [source]rises to 1.7 men / 1.5 women from age 51
  • UK 5.75% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 4.31% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.31% of 1.3 mg [RDI] [source]NHMRC public consultation on vitamin B6 closed 30 Sep 2026; value may be revised
  • WHO 5.31% of 1.3 mg [RNI] [source]
Potassium355 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 13.7% of 2600 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK 10.1% of 3500 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 10.1% of 3500 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 12.7% of 2800 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO 10.1% of 3510 mg [at least] [source]
Magnesium70 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 21.9% of 320 mg [RDA] [source]ages 19–30: men 400, women 310
  • UK 25.9% of 270 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 23.3% of 300 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 21.9% of 320 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 31.8% of 220 mg [RNI] [source]
Calcium27 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 2.7% of 1000 mg [RDA] [source]women 51–70: 1,200
  • UK 3.86% of 700 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 2.84% of 950 mg [PRI] [source]age 25 and over; 1000 mg for ages 18–24
  • Australia/NZ 2.7% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 2.7% of 1000 mg [RNI] [source]
Ironnonheme iron2.1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 11.7% of 18 mg [RDA] [source]women 51+: 8
  • UK 14.2% of 14.8 mg [RNI] [source]UK women's 14.8 mg applies to ages 19–50
  • EU (EFSA) 13.1% of 16 mg (premenopausal); 19.1% of 11 mg (postmenopausal) [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 11.7% of 18 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 3.57–10.7% of 19.6–58.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of iron absorption from the diet (15%, 12%, 10% and 5%)
Zinc1.12 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 14% of 8 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 16% of 7 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 14.9% of 7.5 mg (300 mg phytate band) [PRI] [source]EFSA's band nearest the phytate here (131–292 mg), treating it as the day's phytate; counts only foods with a phytate figure
  • Australia/NZ 14% of 8 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 11.4–37.3% of 3–9.8 mg, depends on diet [RNI] [source]depends on diet: WHO gives one figure for each level of zinc absorption from the diet (high, moderate and low)
Other nutrients with a daily amount
NutrientPer 100 g boiledDaily amounts, woman 31–50
Vitamin Dassumed zero by USDA (not measured)
  • US/Canada (your choice) assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 15 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 10 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 15 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 5 µg [AI] [source]
  • WHO assumed zero by USDA (not measured), so no % of 5 µg [RNI] [source]
Thiamin0.244 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 22.2% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 30.5% of 0.8 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) per MJ of energy intake (0.1 mg/MJ); there is no sourced energy default, so it needs an energy intake [source]
  • Australia/NZ 22.2% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 22.2% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Riboflavin0.059 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 5.36% of 1.1 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 5.36% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 3.69% of 1.6 mg [PRI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 5.36% of 1.1 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO 5.36% of 1.1 mg [RNI] [source]
Niacinnot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • UK units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • EU (EFSA) units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • Australia/NZ units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
  • WHO units differ, not computed: the reference is in niacin equivalents (NE); FDC niacin is preformed niacin only [source]
Vitamin B120 µg (no USDA derivation code)
  • US/Canada (your choice) zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 2.4 µg [RDA] [source]
  • UK zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 1.5 µg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 4 µg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 2.4 µg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO zero is not measured for every food, so no % of 2.4 µg [RNI] [source]
Selenium1.2 µg
Iodinenot computed
  • US/Canada (your choice) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • UK not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • EU (EFSA) not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • Australia/NZ not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
  • WHO not reported: FDC has no figure for any food on the plate [source]
Copper0.209 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 23.2% of 0.9 mg [RDA] [source]table gives 900 µg
  • UK 17.4% of 1.2 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 16.1% of 1.3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 17.4% of 1.2 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Manganese0.444 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 24.7% of 1.8 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 14.8% of 3 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 8.88% of 5 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Phosphorus140 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 20% of 700 mg [RDA] [source]
  • UK 25.5% of 550 mg [RNI] [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 25.5% of 550 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 14% of 1000 mg [RDI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2
Sodium1 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 0.0667% of 1.5 g [AI] [source]table gives 1,500 mg; this is an adequate intake, not a limit
  • UK the UK figure (2.4 g) is a maximum, not a need [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 0.05% of 2 g [safe and adequate] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 0.05% of 2 g [SDT] [source]NHMRC public consultation on sodium closed 30 Sep 2026; values may be revisedadequate intake (): 460–920 mg/day; shown for reference, no %
  • WHO 0.05% of 2 g [limit] [source]
Choline32.6 mg
  • US/Canada (your choice) 7.67% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • UK no value set [source]
  • EU (EFSA) 8.15% of 400 mg [AI] [source]
  • Australia/NZ 7.67% of 425 mg [AI] [source]
  • WHO no value setnot in FAO/WHO 2004 Annex 1 or 2

Absorption

No absorption figure has been sourced for this food yet, so label amounts are shown unadjusted.

What comes with it: what the carbohydrate becomes

Per 100 g as eaten, from UK CoFID 2021 (McCance and Widdowson). CoFID gives starch and sugars as monosaccharide equivalents, so half of sucrose counts as glucose and half as fructose. This is a different measure from USDA's “carbohydrate, by difference” in the table above, and the two are never mixed.

black beans

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for raw black beans. USDA lists 2.12 g of sugars in 100 g and gives no starch figure; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starchnot reported [USDA]
Total sugars2.12 g [USDA]
Glucosenot reported [USDA]
Fructosenot reported [USDA]
Sucrosenot reported [USDA]
Maltosenot reported [USDA]
Lactosenot reported [USDA]
Galactosenot reported [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)15.5 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 173734: Beans, black, mature seeds, raw (not matched to a CoFID food yet) [source]

black beans (boiled)

UK CoFID 2021 has no entry for boiled black beans. USDA lists 0.32 g of sugars in 100 g and gives no starch figure; what it breaks down to is not worked out here.

Starchnot reported [USDA]
Total sugars0.32 g [USDA]
Glucosenot reported [USDA]
Fructosenot reported [USDA]
Sucrosenot reported [USDA]
Maltosenot reported [USDA]
Lactosenot reported [USDA]
Galactosenot reported [USDA]
Fiber (USDA total)8.7 g [USDA]

USDA FDC 173735: Beans, black, mature seeds, cooked, boiled, without salt (not matched to a CoFID food yet) [source]

What comes with it: compounds

Amounts for 100 g of each preparation. Thresholds are worked out for 70 kg body weight.

Phytohemagglutinin (PHA, )

As the source gives it
26429 HAU/g, dry material [source]
Dose
raw: 26429 HAU/g, dry material; not in totals: dry-weight figure in a unit (HAU/g) that is not an amount per mass, so it is not convertedboiled: not in totals: properly boiled beans are a different food from raw ones; the source gives no range for themnot detected after soaking 12 h and boiling 30 min (same study) (Adamcová et al. 2021, Foods 10(11):2796, Table 3 (non-trypsin-treated assay)). [source]
Cooking
Not detected after soaking 12 h and boiling 30 min (same study). EFSA: soaking 6–12 h combined with heating at 100 °C or more for over 30 min is highly effective at deactivating bean lectins. [source]
Threshold
not computable: units differ [source]The source's amounts are in HAU/g; the reference point (no guidance value) is 22.9 mg PHA/kg body weight/day (BMDL10, rat small intestine) (EFSA CONTAM Panel 2026, EFSA Journal 24(1):e9850, no concern above an of 100). EFSA CONTAM Panel 2026, EFSA Journal 24(1):e9850: "exposure to completely deactivated in food prepared following adequate food processing practices (e.g. soaking and boiling) would not raise health concerns"
Effect
Black beans are the same species as red kidney beans (Phaseolus vulgaris; Kew POWO, and Adamcová et al. 2021 Table 2), and EFSA's assessment covers PHA from Phaseolus beans. EFSA: partly cooked red and white kidney beans can cause nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain and diarrhea. We found no separate count of how many raw black beans cause it. Regulatory assessment

(phytic acid)

As the source gives it
339–759 mg/100 g, fresh weight [source]
Dose
raw: 339–759 mg in 100 gboiled: 131–292 mg in 100 g (worked out from the raw figure; assumes no phytate is lost in cooking; USDA water per 100 g: 11.02 g uncooked, FDC 173734; 65.74 g cooked, FDC 173735)
Cooking
Soaking, sprouting and fermenting lower phytate. Cooked figures on this site are worked out from the raw figure and assume none is lost, so they may overstate what is eaten. [source]
Threshold
No established threshold [source]No . EFSA instead raises zinc requirements with intake: at 300/600/900/1,200 mg phytate/day, men need 9.4/11.7/14.0/16.3 mg zinc and women 7.5/9.3/11.0/12.7 mg
Effect
Lowers zinc absorption; zinc needs rise as intake rises (see the threshold note). Regulatory assessment

0 entries for this food are hidden pending verification. They are never shown with a value until checked.

Sources